The Best Worst Day Ever

15 05 2010

Today we decided to go and enjoy the Lost in the 50’s Car Show that takes over Sandpoint every year. We were all getting over being sick and a trip into town was just what we needed. Since Tamra went home to surprise her mother for Mother’s day last weekend we decided to get things started off with a Mother’s Day breakfast at our favorite restaurant, Slates. What ensued was a collection of events so horrible it actually made for one of our most memorable family outings.

We loaded up the car and Tamra grabbed my wallet for me while I went back inside to get a sweatshirt. By the time I got back to the car she had the kids buckled in and we were ready to head out. We were really hungry so I was trying to drive a little faster than normal since we live about 12 miles outside of town. We were rocking out to our favorite Planet Shakers album when about 10 miles into the trip I asked Tamra where she had put my wallet.

“Are you kidding with me?” She yelled as I tried to read her facial expression to determine if she was messing with me or not.

“No, I’m serious.”

“I sat it on top of the car when I buckled Judah in!” She yelled in mild disbelief that she had misplaced a crucial item of mine for the second time in two weeks (On her surprise Mother’s Day trip she got 40 minutes into the 8 hour drive before I called and asked if she had seen my keys which were safely nestled in her pocket).

We raced back to the house and fortunately found my wallet lying in the middle of the road in front of our house. After making sure everything was still in it we were back on our way—and even hungrier! We enjoyed our breakfast and decided to go to the Farmer’s Market and see the car show since Judah loves cars.

It was absolutely packed downtown and right as we arrived and began looking for a parking spot Elli vomited all over herself. Tamra and I looked at each other for a split second having a silent conversation about whether we should just go home or not. Then, three seconds later she vomited again which grossed Judah out so much he had to vomit in disgust. Just 10 seconds prior we were a happy family looking for a parking spot ready to enjoy a nice sunny morning at Sandpoint’s biggest annual festivity. Now, we had two kids in the back seat covered in vomit and wailing like sirens surrounded by thousands of people while traffic directors waived us on emphatically. Tamra and I couldn’t help but laugh.

We weren’t sure what to do. We were too far from home to make the drive like that. Even with the windows down the smell was about to make me join in the puke-filled fun. We pulled into a nearby gas station and bought some paper towels and began hosing things down. Since Elli is newly potty trained she had a spare skirt but no shirt; Judah just got it on his shirt and not on his shorts. So, now we had two shirtless kids running around in the grass happy as clowns asking when we were going to the farmer’s market.

We shot each other an “I’m still in if you are” look and agreed that we’d have to hit the nearby thrift store to find a couple of cheap shirts. One dollar later Tamra returned to the car with matching gray shirts and we were on our way again and finally enjoyed a wonderful day full of hot rods and overpriced local goods.

This ended up being one of my favorite family outings and taught me a valuable lesson: sometimes you just have to make up your mind to have a good time, because with kids, you’ll often have everything working against you.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

